By Mike McClure

Kim Ralph was sworn in on Monday night as the newest member of the Laurel School Board at the board’s reorganization meeting. They will meet again in August. 

Ralph ran for the seat, formerly held by Brad Lee, unopposed and was sworn in by Assistant Superintendent Ashley Giska.

Board members will fill the following positions during the 2024-25 school year: President- Linda Hitchens; Vice President- Sabrina Isler; DSBA Board of Directors Delegate- Brent Nichols; DSBA Board of Directors Alternative Delegate- Jana Pugh; DSBA Legislative Committee Representative- Brent Nichols; DSBA Legislative Alternate Representative- Kim Ralph; Teacher of the Year Representatives- Jana Pugh and Sabrina Isler; Academic Awards Celebration Representatives- Sabrina Isler and Kim Ralph.

The August school board meeting will now take place on Aug. 14 because an open house is scheduled for Aug. 21.


Community Statement: Reinstatement of Dr. Shawn Larrimore

Date: July 3, 2024

The Laurel Board of Education announces the reinstatement of Dr. Shawn Larrimore as Superintendent, effective July 8, 2024. During his absence, Dr. Larrimore has taken significant time to reflect, grow, and take important steps to ensure he meets the expectations of the Board and the community as a whole.

The Board has thoroughly reviewed the situation and believes in Dr. Larrimore’s dedication to personal and professional development. We are confident in his ability to lead our district with integrity and commitment to the safety and well-being of our students, staff, and community.

We appreciate the community’s understanding and support during this time and look forward to continuing our collaborative efforts to achieve our shared goals for the Laurel School District.


Laurel Board of Education