The trustees of The Salisbury Award are pleased to announce the addition of Erica Joseph and Sharon Morris as two new trustees. 

Erica Joseph joined the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore in 2003 and has served as the foundation’s program officer, development director and vice president of community investment. She was appointed foundation president in 2015. 

Joseph holds a bachelor of arts in political science from Salisbury University and a master of science in conservation biology from the University of Maryland College Park. 

She serves on the board of directors for the Maryland Philanthropy Network and Maryland Nonprofits and serves on the steering committee/board for the Maryland Community Foundation Association. 

Joseph is a graduate of Shore Leadership (2015), Leadership Maryland (2019) and was recognized by The Daily Record’s Leading Women (2015) and Maryland’s Top 100 Women (2018). She lives in Laurel with her husband, Jeremy and son, Andrew.

Sharon Morris joined First Shore Federal in 2016 as a community reinvestment activity officer following retirement from Wicomico County local government as assistant director of administration in 2015. Morris is a graduate fellow from the Academy for Excellence in Local Governance, University of Maryland School of Public Policy.

Morris is a member representative for First Shore Federal at several nonprofit agencies and serves in leadership roles. 

She also serves at the committee level of the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore (CFES) and the John B. Parsons Foundation. In 2022, Morris joined visionary founder Sonya Whited as a founding member of Black Excellence Community Fund, together with Lori Carter, for the betterment of Black communities. 

The Salisbury Award is the community’s oldest and most prestigious independent civic award. 

To learn more about the award and its history, including a list of all the honorees, visit its Facebook page.