Sandy Davis honored as 2019 Delmar Citizen of the Year during annual banquet

By Mike McClure

Sandy Davis grew up in East New Market, but for 50 years Delmar has been her home. On Tuesday, Davis was honored as the 2019 Delmar Citizen of the Year during the annual banquet held at the Delmar VFW and sponsored by the Greater Delmar Chamber of Commerce.

Davis raised her family in the Town Too Big for One State and her daughter, Faith Higbee, a teacher at Delmar High for 27 years, raised her family in Delmar as well.

“This is the kind of town that you want to call home,” Davis said during her acceptance speech.

Following dinner, friends and family were invited to speak about Davis.

Roger Martinson said he felt like Davis’ adopted son. “She’s just one of the sweetest ladies I know,” he added.

Delmar (Del.) Mayor Michael Houlihan reads the town’s proclamation to 2019 Delmar Citizen of the Year Sandy Davis during Tuesday’s banquet at the Delmar VFW. Photo by Mike McClure

Higbee said her mom often does things for people behind the scenes and is always there to offer advice when needed.

Emcee Bunky Naugle added, “She is one loyal, faithful servant for our community.”

Delmar (Del.) Mayor Michael Houlihan presented tributes to Davis on behalf of U.S. Senators Chris Coons and Tom Carper. Other presentations were made by Rep. Tim Dukes, Senator Bryant Richardson, a representative on behalf of Delegate Carl Anderton and Senator Mary Beth Carozza, Dee McDonnell of the Delmar Lions Club, and Wicomico County Councilmen Joe Holloway and Larry Dodd.

“It it wasn’t for good citizens doing good things our country wouldn’t be as great as it is,” Dodd said.

Houlihan returned to the podium on behalf of the town. “We are all so blessed to live in this town,” he said during his presentation.

Chamber President Conrad Morgan added, “Delmar’s such a great, great town. You (Davis) are what makes this town great.”

Past recipients in attendance were: P. Douglas Niblett, Bill Brittingham, Dee McDonnell, Mary Lee Pase, Bunky Naugle, John McDonnell, John Layton, Peggy Moore, Michael Houlihan, Susan Upole, Brenda Morris, Russell Smart, and David Burton.

2019-11-22T13:13:07-05:00 November 15th, 2019|LAUREL-NEWS|